Spring Cleaning

With the weather changing, I’ve found myself thinking about the idea of “Spring Cleaning”. It’s something that I have been trying to really concentrate on as of late. My life is full of positive energy, good fortune, great people, smiles, laughs, and fun. This is not to say that there aren’t tough days or hard work – there are always tough days and hard work.

The tough days and hard work can actually be extremely rewarding and positive, all according to the way you look at them, which brings me back to my outlook and the life that I am creating and continually working on for myself. I’ve been extremely fortunate to have met some unbelievable people in the last few months and begin working with them, learning from them, sharing stories, and just really vibing with these folks.

This isn’t an accident. I have created the circumstances surrounding these connections by being honest, open, caring, and doing things with no expectation of any type of reciprocation. I continue to meet wonderful people with huge hearts and minds and it seems as if my circle is getting larger, but more focused.

The “more focused” part of this is a function of what we might look at as, “Spring Cleaning”. I had a conversation with a group of friends and colleagues this past week that really opened my eyes. We spoke about business, charity, energy, love, relationships, and most importantly our approach to life. I’ve had a lot of help in my life from many beautiful people and I hope that I have been helpful to others along the way. I have been trying for a long time to do as much as I can for as many people as I can (this is just the way I’m built – this doesn’t mean that I’m not self-aware or get no value out of helping others – I do and I love it). Focusing my energy, evaluating the projects I am working on, and more importantly the people I am surrounding myself with are at the forefront of my “Spring Cleaning” if you will.

Now, more than last week, last month, last year, I’m working on focusing my world and cutting out the negative energy. It was brought to my attention that I was just trying to do too much (for the millionth time) and it really hit me hard. Since this group conversation, I’ve been thinking about the way I approach people and life. I will ALWAYS lend a hand to someone who is reaching for help – ALWAYS. However, I have been the one reaching out to “help” others and make sure everything is okay in their lives, and sometimes – they either don’t need any of my “help” or they simply don’t want any of my “help”. As I’ve been looking back on the things I have done and the people I spend time with, I have really begun to notice the relationships and the things in my life where I am reaching out my hand, but there’s nobody reaching toward it. This is my fault. My “help” isn’t always needed – and this begs the self-reflective questions: “Dude, who do you think you are? The guy who everyone needs? Maybe they don’t need you or want you?”

I’m not sure how to feel about these self-reflective questions and it’s definitely not easy for me to be writing this, but it’s happening, so why not share it? I am who I am and I can’t really be anything else. While I’m not sure how to feel about these introspective questions, I am beginning to gain clarity on how to act and where to focus my energy going forward. When I try to lend my energy, mind, time, and heart to a situation, organization, or person and my energy is not met with the same positive drive and commitment, it’s probably a good indicator that the situation, organization, or person is not something I should be “helping”.

I’m actively taking more time to look at the things THAT I WANT (one of them being helping others) and figuring out how to achieve them. I’m cutting out the people, organizations, and situations that I am not “helping” or do not want my “help”. This is not me being cynical or some passive-aggressive post you might find on Facebook or some other Social Media site – this is me recognizing that I am NOT “helpful” in every situation and me recognizing that I should focus my attention and energy where it is warranted.

Personally, this is extremely liberating for me – doing this, and even writing this blog about it – it’s really helping me clear out some of the crap that’s stuck in my head and my heart. I’m really beginning to understand that the things THAT I WANT for myself and I want for others are not the same things that everyone else wants. I’m taking a hard look at the projects, organizations, and people in my life and I am really evaluating my time and how I spend it. My time is the most finite, valuable currency in my life and I want to spend it doing the things that mean the most to me with the people that mean the most to me. This is my “Spring Cleaning” and it’s a work in progress. It’s not something that’s easy to do, but since I’ve begun doing it, I’ve gained clarity and a better understanding of myself and the environment around me… What are you doing for “Spring Cleaning”?

About rizzojoshua

I'm probably a lot like you, trying to figure out what it is we're all doing here. I'm going to write about what's honestly on my mind and heart, and I hope to inspire you and be inspired by you.
This entry was posted in brainstorming, Business, Creating, Existentialism, Ideas, Ideation, insecurities, Insecurity, Leadership, Loneliness, LOVE, mistakes, Philosophy, Positive Thinking, Self Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Cleaning

  1. Glad to know your Spring cleaning is yielding helpful self-reflection, Josh. I believe the seasons are very much aligned with our spiritual patterns and likewise am enjoying this time of cleansing, growth, and renewal.

  2. Boyd says:

    Great to hear, man! Since you’ve been out you’ve seemed to have been ‘herding cats’ with the cats being all your projects. I know how much energy you have (I wish I could tap some of it sometimes) and it’s easy for you to divide your energy. It sounds like you’re taking a page from some of the successful people in the world who seem to be able to become singularly focused, and that catapults their visions into reality. Keep it up Josh!!!

    • rizzojoshua says:

      Boyd – I appreciate it brother – you’re right – I appreciate your help on that project – your boy is amazing and has been such a great ambassador for me – I will be in touch as we progress with that… Thanks again for the read old friend!

Leave a Reply

