Don’t Be A Bot

Don’t be a bot.

Stop and take a look at those you might usually pass by.

Those people you serve or those people you work with, work for, and/or see at the newsstand every day.  They are people just like you.  They might be acting like robots… but why?  The same reason you and I have and do – we get fixated on either a task or something negative and we put our head down, move forward through our day, through our life, missing the most beautiful part of this life – all of the unique people made up of the same stuff.

There have been too many instances that I have both been a part of and experienced where we just walk by others just like us and don’t recognize each other.  The thing that separates us from robots and machines is our ability to feel.  We can relate to each other, we can create things, we can use our minds to connect and help each other.  I know I’ve had days where I move through life, not thinking, not wanting to be bothered, and I’ve had interactions with people where I could have just simply been more caring, loving, and HUMAN.  I could have asked how people are doing, made a friendly gesture – even a small smile – that little thing could mean the world to someone else.  I know I’ve had days where people went out of their way to say hello to me, talk to me, and genuinely shown care, love, and acted HUMAN towards me.  And it feels good, especially when we’re down.

I read a quote from Jerry West this week that really struck a chord with me and my existence in general, moreover it made me think about the way I carry myself and interact with others.  Jerry West said, “You can’t get much done in life if you only work hard on the days when you feel good.”  This quote really resonated with me because there are many days when I wake up and I don’t feel 100% and those days are tough to get going and get things done, make progress in whatever it is I’m undertaking in my life.  I’m sure we all have those days, and I’m making a conscious effort to remember that quote and get up and get it done, no matter what.

This really applies to the way I treat others as well.  It’s very easy for us to wake up, not feel 100%, which I’m not sure is ever the case, and just kind of bumble through life feeling sorry for ourselves.  We’ve got to first think about our output, our goals, and ourselves, then we have to think about all of the people we might interact with on any given day and give ourselves and everyone else our best – even if it’s tough.  If we can be a light, brighten someone else’s day, and do something good, then we’re helping – we’re adding – we’re putting something good into the world.  We’re DOING MORE.

I challenge all of you to think about Jerry West’s quote, “You can’t get much done in life if you only work hard on the days when you feel good.”

Think about that when you get up and think about how you must go on, you must progress towards your goals, and you MUST NOT BE A BOT.  Be a human – care, love, and recognize others – no matter what burdens you’re carrying – there are others that you can help by simply being human, caring, and loving them.  A small gesture goes a long way.  Don’t be a bot my friends… we’re all made of the same stuff.  Let’s work harder, love ourselves more, love one another more, and put some good into the world.

Love & Peas,
Josh

About rizzojoshua

I'm probably a lot like you, trying to figure out what it is we're all doing here. I'm going to write about what's honestly on my mind and heart, and I hope to inspire you and be inspired by you.
This entry was posted in brainstorming, Business, Creating, Existentialism, Ideas, Ideation, insecurities, Insecurity, Leadership, Loneliness, LOVE, mistakes, Philosophy, Positive Thinking, Self Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

