Time: Something We Can All Give

Time.  This is the greatest resource we have as humans.  It is something that is unreplenishable and finite to our existence on this earth.  Time is something that I revere as my most valuable commodity.  There is nothing greater that I value and nothing greater that we can share with each other.

When trying to help a cause or help friends out, we can throw money at a situation all day long, but really that’s only if we have the money, and often that’s not the case.  If it is, it’s usually in lieu of giving our time.  I think about this often and I try to ensure that I give people my time whenever I can.  I probably fall into a trap of stretching myself too thin and devoting time to a lot of people and causes, but that’s the way I am built and I will always try and be there to help others in need.

For me, the most comforting and reassuring feeling is knowing that someone will be there for me when I need them.  It takes a lot to stop what you’re doing and give your time to someone else.  Often we get stuck looking at our own busy lives, our unfinished to-do lists, all of our personal goals, and close ourselves off from the world.  The world is full of people who have it worse than us and are struggling to find a friend, looking for help, and if we can be there for them I think we should.  Obviously, there’s a balance and we need to take care of ourselves, but very often we have the time to help others (especially our friends) and we choose not to do so because it’s easy to rationalize and get stuck on what we’ve got going on.

I have grown a lot over the last few years and I’ve tried hard to make sure that I’m there for my friends and anyone that I can help.  I hope and pray that my friends look at me that way and know that I will always be there when they need me.  I think about this everyday and it’s something I expect from my friends and it’s how I know who is really there for me.  I try to always do what I say I’m going to do – even if that means telling a friend I’m unable to be there – that’s actually being there for them.

It’s very easy for us to get tunnel vision (myself included) and look at the things in our life that are not going well or the problems that we’re dealing with on a daily basis.  Our burdens that we carry can usually be helped out by friends and people if only we have the courage to ask.  Something that a lot of us don’t do is ask for help.  This is something that I’ve struggled with over the years, whether it was pride or just insecurity, but I’m at a point in my life where I can and DO ask for help.  I need it.  We all do.  This life thing isn’t something we should have to go through alone.  Life is something that we struggle through daily and I have gotten to the point where I understand this notion.  This has helped me not only to solicit help from friends when I need it, but it has helped me immensely in seeing that I can be the other guy and be the one who helps others when they need it.

Time is much more valuable than anything else you could give to someone.  I need it – I need to know that someone is there for me. I’m so fortunate that I have so many great friends who will always answer my call, always be there for me – whatever it is… In turn, my recognition of this has allowed me to understand the value of time and driven me to do everything in my power to be there for others.  Putting positive energy into the universe, sharing myself, sharing my time, and giving with absolutely no expectation of anything in return has made me a better person and I like to think that it’s made my circles stronger and the world a better place.

What do you do with your time?
Are you there for others?
Let’s take it a step further:
When’s the last time you reached out to a friend that you know needs a good talk, hug, or whatever, but doesn’t know how to ask?

My challenge to you is to think about the people in your life that could probably use some encouragement, maybe just some reassurance that you’re there for them, and that they’re not alone.
Go ahead and give them a call… It will be more rewarding to them and you than you’ll ever know…

Do you need to talk to someone?  Get in touch.  I’ll make some time – promise.

Love & Peas,
Josh

About rizzojoshua

I'm probably a lot like you, trying to figure out what it is we're all doing here. I'm going to write about what's honestly on my mind and heart, and I hope to inspire you and be inspired by you.
This entry was posted in brainstorming, Business, Creating, Existentialism, Ideas, insecurities, Insecurity, Leadership, Loneliness, LOVE, Philosophy, Positive Thinking, Self Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time: Something We Can All Give

  1. Ohmar Go says:

    Bravo!! Wow, did that resonate with me on so many levels! I love that fact that you value TIME as the biggest value we have to give others. Its like you’re saying that time is just an expense if you don’t share it and invest it in others. This blog is on-point!! Love it!!

  2. Al Chase says:

    Wise counsel, as always.

Leave a Reply

