Mistakes & Insecurities

Mistakes… we’ve all made many, most of which we don’t care to share, but I think mistakes are an essential part of growing and becoming something better than you are right now.  The path to greatness, to reach our fullest potential is paved with mistakes, so GO MAKE THEM.  Don’t take that the wrong way – a mistake is just that – a MISTAKE – not something you planned to do, but something that will inherently be a part of any endeavor that you choose to undertake.

Many of us are afraid to make mistakes, and a lot of that is caused from our insecurities.  We don’t want to fail – we don’t want to “look stupid” or let anyone down.  Everything is fixable, so be bold and try new things.  It’s ironic that as a child, people tell you, “you can do whatever you want in your life, be anything you want to be” and somewhere along the way we lose that sentiment.  We all take punches and get knocked down along the way – it’s just a part of life… I know this has been said by countless people, but it’s something that I started writing about while reading in a waiting room today, so I’m just going to let it flow…

If we take those punches and accept the mat, the floor, getting knocked down, being told no, and we stay down – what good are we?  We might as well be dead.  We have to get up and punch back and fight for what we want.  Call me naive, but I promise you that I’ve come to a point in my life where I believe, rather I know, I can do anything and I know anyone else can too – it’s a matter of effort, passion, and relentlessness.  Don’t quit.  Go out and make some mistakes – you will learn and grow from them – you will become more rounded – you will know what it’s like to be down and get back up and you will be a resource and a wealth of knowledge and experience for those in your circle.

I mentioned insecurities because they are a big part of all of our lives.  I’ve spent a lot of my life feeling like I need validation and I need recognition to feel whole because of insecurities.  I can sit here and try and do a self psychoanalysis as to why I felt that way, but that would probably bore you guys to death, and it’s not that interesting.  Besides, I’m sure a lot of you have felt or feel the same way, like you need validation, which is bullshit.

I’ve spent a lot of my life insecure, still am, but I’m recognizing it and I’m understanding that I’m good enough and I really need no one to tell me that – although, I’m human just like you and it feels nice when someone recognizes what I am doing and gives me the proverbial “pat on the back”.  I go out of my way to compliment strangers and friends alike when I feel that it’s warranted.  I understand that we’re all human and we all deal with insecurities, but like I’ve said before, all of us really know nothing – please don’t be offended by that last statement as I’m speaking in the larger scope of world and this existence.

Although we know nothing, we still need a counterpoint in this existence to validate that we’re here – maybe I’m contradicting myself here.  I’m confused now.  I hope someone comments and lends to this discussion because I’m kind of shaking my head and confused and probably thinking too much… Thoughts?  I hope this sparks some discussion… Thanks friends…

Love & Peas,
Josh

About rizzojoshua

I'm probably a lot like you, trying to figure out what it is we're all doing here. I'm going to write about what's honestly on my mind and heart, and I hope to inspire you and be inspired by you.
This entry was posted in Business, Creating, Existentialism, insecurities, Insecurity, Leadership, Loneliness, LOVE, mistakes, Philosophy, Positive Thinking, Self Help, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mistakes & Insecurities

  1. Boyd says:

    “Success is not to be measured by the position someone has reached in life, but the obstacles he has overcome while trying to succeed.”
    Booker T. Washington

    I try to define myself more by what I’ve overcome , rather than what I’ve accomplished. Granted, some members of society have it WAY harder than I do. In that i consider myself soft. That keeps me humble. I also have a propensity to always try to take someone elses perspective whenever I interact ( that whole id, ego, and the other thing; psych stuff is cool!). Bottomline is that if you are still breathing, you should strive to be better and leave this rock better than you found it. That’s my take.

  2. Al Chase says:

    The most common fear – terror, really – shared by the most successful people in the world is the fear that someday someone will call them out as a fraud and reveal to the world that they do not have the intelligence, experience, knowledge, character, etc. to be in the loft position that they have someone attained. At the very heart of this fear is the insecurity that you mentioned. And the the higher the position, the deeper the fear. of being found inadequate. You know as well as anyone the truth that with kind of terrifying situation, courage does not mean the absence of fear but the willingness to push through the wall of fear to accomplish what must be done. You are in good company, my friend.

    • rizzojoshua says:

      Al, you never cease to amaze me – this hits home in a lot of ways – you’ve known me forever and know me more deeply than most – thanks so much for your insight… You’re the best man…

Leave a Reply

